None of my business…

I had wondered whether there could be a web – based laundry service in one of my old posts. Well, 2 days back I was checking my email and happened to check my b-school mailing group folder after a long time. I came to know that one of my batch-mates has actually started such a laundry service! When I mentioned this to one of my colleagues at work, she happened to mention that IFB already had similar service in select few cities. Honestly, I was not aware of it but I thought, it was still a largely unknown concept in India and would work too well in cities like Gurgaon, Hyd, Bangalore etc where a large number of young professionals are from other cities, live in PG/ rented arrangements and may not be able to hire a household help either due to their odd schedules or trust issues or simply due to scarcity of good helps…

Anyways, one more person I know starts his own venture…I remember how many business ideas we would think of during b-school days…some downright stupid and meant as diversion from our hectic schedule…some which made sense from time to time. We had plans right from owning a chain of photocopy – printout centers across Mumbai 🙂 whats with our constant trips to nearby photocopier during exam days to  sale of exotic flowers to a concept of future fungibility between various forms of payments and mobile phone balances.. imagination without bounds and lots of pressure to earn marks/prizes out of this, with every b-school coming up with a business plan competitions. Gone are those days…

These days, honestly, I must admit to myself, the only time I think about such things is after a bad day at work…when I wish I could be my own master. Yeah, like most of my batch – mates, even I had dreamt of a business of my own at 35 etc…but almost 4 years of work-ex post my PG has had me grounded to a great extent…so now I truly appreciate the guts of all those who left their high-paying jobs and took risk of being their own masters. It must be challenging and heady stuff…though very scary! Kudos!!

About pradsword

My posts will reveal the most about my nature and my thoughts...all in all, this is an attempt to figure out my thoughts!

Posted on March 28, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

