Life’s Ephemeral…

Life’s ephemeral- they say,
Blink and you’d be gone,
So you better had lived to glory
Before your senses wan

Well life is short – I do agree
And the ‘glory’ may differ
The happiness for every heart
will never be the same I infer

How I would lead this transient life
If I had only my will to ask
I’d sing, I’d laugh, I’d cry and frown
My thoughts and musings I’d never mask

Well, I would see much of this world,
the people,the places, the greens
The oceans blue, the valleys deep
skies with starry sheen

and I’d want to face my demons
For the truth’s what I want to live
I’d own up my faults, seek forgiveness
Others’ faults, I’d try to forgive

There would be some I’d call to chat,
Some, I would love to meet
To all acknowledged and unacknowledged before
I’d bid my final greet

For I never want to regret,
things undone, words never spelt
sights unseen, sounds unheard
and senses never felt

So I’d do all things that I wanted to do
and say what I always wanted to say
For I may never have another chance
to end the things as I may

 

ETA: Made some additions of articles and commas here and there ….

About pradsword

My posts will reveal the most about my nature and my thoughts...all in all, this is an attempt to figure out my thoughts!

Posted on March 13, 2011, in Life, Personal, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. perpetualquandary

    I’m so glad I know you. What a beautiful and poignant poem! loved it and the message of living life without hypocrisy and without regrets. keep it up prads.

  2. Thanks Rekha! the pleasure is mutual 🙂

    Yeah I agree, living without hypocrisy and regrets is an ‘optimum’ living.
    And I hope it can be achieved without having to face great tragedies like the massive earthquake from the other day caused. How thousands lost their lives within a blink… That makes the usual policy of ‘keeping appearances’ seem so petty and worthless….

Leave a Reply

