Now Reading

I’m reading a novella called ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray‘ – By Oscar Wilde. I haven’t yet reached even the middle of this book, but am in love with the prose – which is sometimes as lovely as poetry. I loved the description of human nature and I wish I could remember every 2nd line from this book. Till now, this book seems to be promoting hedonism, but in most beautiful language ever imaginable!! I’m reading it on basic kindle , so while I do try to highlight, it gets a bit tedious. If I had a hardbound copy of this book, I’d probably not underline the text and spoil the paper. I read a very interesting para today,  in chapter 4:

– “Human life–that appeared to him the one thing worth investigating.  Compared to it there was nothing else of anyvalue.  It was true that as one watched life in its curious crucible of pain and pleasure, one could not wear over one’s face a mask of glass,nor keep the sulphurous fumes from troubling the brain and making the imagination turbid with monstrous fancies and misshapen dreams.  There were poisons so subtle that to know their properties one had to sicken of them.  There were maladies so strange that one had to pass through them if one sought to understand their nature.  And, yet, what a great reward one received!  How wonderful the whole world became to one!  To note the curious hard logic of passion, and the emotional coloured life of the intellect–to observe where they met, and where they separated, at what point they were in unison, and at what point they were at discord–there was a delight in that!  What matter what the cost was? One could never pay too high a price for any sensation.

About pradsword

My posts will reveal the most about my nature and my thoughts...all in all, this is an attempt to figure out my thoughts!

Posted on April 2, 2011, in books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. perpetualquandary

    read this one many years back. Don’t remember the language much, but do remember oscar wilde’s openly gay overtones running through the text!

  2. Yeah, tell you what, that was among the first things I noticed about it and was honestly speaking, scandalised initially since I have not read any slash literature ever before. But after the initial unease, when I read on, it remained without any vulgarity and kept me interested.

Leave a Reply

